Used Brains For Sale

Lifetime guarantee

The Destroyer of Family Values

I wrote this post on Sayoni a long time ago, rebutting the arguments of the other side one by one. I’ve been reading through the IQ-leeching comments on the keep377a website, and I don’t understand how these people can rationally believe family values can be eroded by two men having sex. Is it a zero-sum game? Everytime two people of the same gender have sex, The Great Cosmic Scorekeeper strike off one point for the family value column, and award one point to the gay column, resulting a slow “erosion of values”.

You want to know what does destroy families and tear them apart? Homophobia. Every time a parent rejects his gay child, every time a parent turns his face away when she holds her partner’s hand, every time a gay child emigrates to escape the family’s disapproval and find a better life away from this country. That tears families apart.

I worry about what will happen to my family too, when they eventually find out. I worry that I will have to go to a country far away to avoid hurting my parents, to escape their disapproval. I worry that I will get married without their blessings, or even their knowledge. I worry that no matter how successful I am in later life, whether I fulfill the dreams my father has for me, they will never be able to be proud of me. I worry that my future children will never play at the feet of their grandparents, listen to the grandmother stories, taste my mother’s amazing cooking. I worry they will not let me take care of them later in life, when they are retired.

Because I am their child too, gay or straight.

October 21, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

