Used Brains For Sale

Lifetime guarantee

Random Rant

This time it is about campus food. Everyone and their grandmothers know about the bad food at the NUS Bukit Timah campus – the canteen that calls itself “The Summit”, when one has to eat there every single fracking day, could possibly lead one to cannibalism as a better alternative.

In the past three days, for various reasons, I’ve been coming to the main campus. Today, it was to pick up some books from the Business School library for the equity assignment. I have eaten here before, and was looking forward to trying the western food stall again (and of course. anything is better than Summit food). But another stall caught my eye – I saw a franchise of one of my favourite restaurants, Cafe Le Caire (operating in Arab Street). It can’t be, I think… a franchise like that would cost about 6 bucks per me– wait, do mine eyes deceive me? Does nothing in this cost more than 3 bucks? Is the signboard playing tricks on me? Turns out it was true, and I was made a very happy woman after eating a shish kebab sandwich (the proportions are fairly okay) for 2.50.

And just yesterday, I had bought a set of Hana Maki (salmon-wrapped rice with a dollop on mayo and salmon roe on top) for 2.50 at the Japanese restaurant in Yusof Ishak House (which would have cost upwards of 5 bucks at normal restaurants), freshly prepared on the spot. I am still standing after eating it (no stomach troubles or whatever), so clearly quality isn’t what they are skimping on.

So, really, what is causing the food at Summit to suck so much? And cost more than the gems I’ve mentioned here?

April 1, 2009 - Posted by | Campus Life | ,

3 Comments »

  1. I nearly broke my teeth eating at said Japanese restaurant during NUS Openhouse 2007. There was a screw in my oyakodon, I kid you not. Thankfully I uncovered it before biting into it. The hana maki is okay, but the mayo always tastes a little off to me, hehe. Probably the supermarket type, not the real Japanese sort.

    Comment by zark | April 4, 2009 | Reply

    • Wow. It was perfectly fine when I tasted it…

      Comment by pleinelune | April 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. INDU! I completely agree with your thoughts. Western food at the biz canteen tastes good, and the operator can remember tons of orders from everyone, he just keeps going down the queue asking for the orders even though the queue gets really long at times. amazing memory. oh, and he says that he used to study at law school. one of those jaded lawyers who decided that they had enough of practice? 😛

    Comment by huiwen | April 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

